This course has been approved by the State of Florida Department of Health and meets CHAPTER 64E-28 educational requirements that satisfy Florida state statute sections 381.00771-381.00791.
Effective January 1, 2012, the Department of Health (the department) implemented sections 381.00771-381.00791, Florida Statutes (F.S.), The Practice of Tattooing. These statutes require licensure of tattoo artists and tattoo establishments, and also set forth educational requirements and standards of practice for conventional and cosmetic tattoo artists, and operational requirements for tattoo establishments. Chapter 64E-28, Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.), which currently is undergoing the rulemaking process, details the statutory requirements for tattoo establishments and tattoo artists. It is recommended that tattoo establishment owners and operators as well as tattoo artists review the requirements of both the statute sections and the rule chapter to ensure compliance with requirements for both artists and establishments.
As of January 1, 2012, the conditions required by section 877.04, F.S., that require any person who tattoos or applies permanent make-up in Florida to either be licensed as, or work under the "general supervision" as defined in Chapter 64B8-2.002, F.A.C. of, a Medical Doctor, a Doctor of Osteopathy, a Doctor of Dental Surgery, or a Doctor of Medical Dentistry will no longer be required due to implementation of sections 381.00771-381.00791, F.S.
Tattoo Establishment Licensure Requirements
Licensure of the tattoo establishment or temporary tattoo establishment requires submission of a completed Application for Tattoo Establishment License, with the required $200.00 fee to the local county health department that has jurisdiction for the tattoo program. Tattoo establishments shall be inspected by county health department staff who administer the biomedical waste and body piercing programs, to determine compliance with sections 381.00771-381.00791, Florida Statutes (F.S.), The Practice of Tattooing and Chapter 64E-28, ,F.A.C., Florida Administrative Code. An inspection with a passing result is required prior to issuance of a tattoo establishment license.
Persons opening new tattoo establishments not only need to be in compliance with the previously stated tattoo licensure requirements, but should also contact their city and county to find out if they will need a business tax receipt for their business.
A biomedical waste generator permit is required for conventional and cosmetic tattoo businesses. Information on the biomedical waste permit process may be obtained from the biomedical waste coordinator who has the programmatic responsibility in the county where the business is located. An application for a biomedical waste generator permit can be downloaded from the biomedical waste website.
Tattoo Artist Licensure
Licensure of the tattoo artist requires submission of a completed Application for Tattoo Artist License, with the required $60.00 fee; a copy of a government-issued photo identification confirming the applicant is at least 18 years of age; and documentation of completing a department-approved, industry-specific blood borne pathogens and communicable diseases course with a minimum examination score of 70%. Several educational courses have been submitted to the department and currently are under review. Courses, which have received approval, can be found on our Education Courses for Tattoo Artist webpage. Chapter 64E-28, ,F.A.C.) provides tattoo artists six months from the effective date of the rule chapter to come into compliance with the tattoo artist licensure requirement.
Guest Tattoo Artist Registration
A guest tattoo artist registration is required for any tattoo artist who plans to tattoo in Florida and who also holds an active license, registration, or certification issued by a jurisdiction outside Florida. A person wishing to register as a guest tattoo artist shall submit a completed Application for Guest Tattoo Artist Registration, with the required $35.00 fee; a copy of a government-issued photo identification confirming the applicant is at least 18 years of age; proof of an active license, registration, or certification in a jurisdiction outside Florida; and documentation of having completed a course on bloodborne pathogens and communicable diseases with a score of at least 70% on the course examination.
Tattoo artists, which are applying for a guest tattoo artist registration, who hold an active license, registration, or certification issued by a jurisdiction outside of Florida and who completed an educational course and achieved a score of at least 70% on the examination required for licensure, registration, or certification in that jurisdiction, may submit the curriculum for such course and examination to the department for determination as to whether the course substantially meets or exceeds those requirements specified in section 64E-28.006, F.A.C. Should the department determine that the curriculum does not substantially meet or exceed these requirements, the tattoo artist will be required to complete a department-approved, industry-specific bloodborne pathogens and communicable diseases course will be required with a minimum passing examination score of 70%. A guest artist registration is valid for up to fourteen (14) consecutive days in Florida. Tattoo artists who will perform tattooing at conventions or tattoo events in Florida during the months of February and March 2012, are not required to register with the department during this time period.
Persons opening new tattoo establishments not only need to be in compliance with the previously stated tattoo licensure requirements, but should also contact their city and county